2022 FIFA World Cup Intercontinental Qualifiers teams, schedule, clashes for the last two places in Qatar

The 2022 World Cup final draw is almost complete. The FIFA World Cup draw took place on April 1 with 29 of the 32 participating teams already determined. These last three places will not be decided until June.

Due to a schedule impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic and a separate ongoing crisis in Ukraine, the FIFA World Cup qualifying field has yet to be finalized. The two intercontinental qualifiers that usually take place before the World Cup draw have been pushed back to June, as have the final playoffs for the remaining berth available in Europe.

This article will break down everything you need to know about the Intercontinental Qualifiers which have thrown up some incredible games in recent memory, with nations from different regional confederations pushing for a World Cup spot. In the past, the playoffs were played over two legs, but this year the matches are one-time 90-minute affairs played in Qatar, making for potentially more exciting matches.

With five teams from four confederations battling for just two World Cup spots, here’s how the Intercontinental qualifiers will play out.

Full Draw Results | TV program | Recent news

Intercontinental playoff schedule

The two intercontinental World Cup play-off matches in June will pit one nation from four regional confederations – Asia (AFC), North America (CONCACAF), South America (CONMEBOL) and Oceania (OFC) – against another in one. one time. Game.

The identity of the participants in the playoffs was known at the end of March, but the AFC representative will not be decided until June 7 with a playoff match between the two Asian nations who finished third in their groups scheduled for that date. The winner will have one week to prepare for an appointment with Peru.

Dated Team 1 Team 2
TBD (June 13/14) Australia Where United Arab Emirates (AFC playoff winner) vs. Peru (CONMEBOL 5th place)
TBD (June 13/14) Costa Rica (CONCACAF 4th place) vs. New Zealand (OFC Champions)

World Cup group for playoff winners

The World Cup draw on April 1 confirmed the groups into which the two winners of the intercontinental playoffs will be drawn.

South America’s winner against Asia will move into Group D and can expect an opener against France.

Meanwhile, the winner of North America against Oceania (Costa Rica against New Zealand) won’t have it any easier in Group E with the likes of Spain and Germany, and an opener against La Furia Roja.

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D
Group E | Group F | Group G | Group H

World Cup Group D table and schedule

Team pls generalist O I D GF Georgia GD
D1: France 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
D2: AUS/EAU/PER* 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
D3: Denmark 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
D4: Tunisia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

* = Winner of Intercontinental Qualifiers (Peru v Australia/UAE)

Group D match schedule

Dated Meet Time (ET) Stadium
Tue 22 Nov Denmark vs Tunisia 8am city ​​of education
Tue 22 Nov France against AUS/UAE/PER 2 p.m. Al Janoub
Sat 26 Nov Tunisia against AUS/UAE/PER 5 a.m. Al Janoub
Sat 26 Nov France against Denmark 11am Stadium 974
Wed 30 Nov Tunisia vs France 10am city ​​of education
Wed 30 Nov AUS/UAE/PER v Denmark 10am Al Janoub

World Cup Group E table and schedule

Team pls generalist O I D GF Georgia GD
E1: Spain 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
E2: CRC/NZ* 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
E3: Germany 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
E4: Japan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

* = Winner of the intercontinental qualifiers (Costa Rica against New Zealand)

Group E match schedule

Dated Meet Time (ET) Stadium
Wed 23 Nov Germany versus Japan 8am Khalifa International Airport
Wed 23 Nov Spain v CRC/NZ 11am Al Thumama
Sun 27 Nov Japan v CRC/NZ 5 a.m. Ahmad Bin Ali
Sun 27 Nov Spain v Germany 2 p.m. Al Bayt
Thursday, December 1 Japan vs Spain 2 p.m. Khalifa International Airport
Thursday, December 1 CRC/NZ v Germany 2 p.m. Al Bayt

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D
Group E | Group F | Group G | Group H

Format of the FIFA World Cup Intercontinental Qualifiers

The structure of the FIFA World Cup playoff format has been simplified in recent qualifying cycles to a one-match format.

Based on the number of transcontinental trips, often in the middle of the domestic season for players, objections have been raised with criticism of unfair advantages given to ‘stronger’ confederations.

MORE: Which teams have qualified for the 2022 World Cup?

FIFA has confirmed that the 2022 Intercontinental Qualifiers will all be played at neutral venues in Qatar. The governing body has also confirmed that since the matches will be played at neutral venues, they will be played over a single 90-minute match rather than two matches played home and away.

The only regional confederations without a place in the intercontinental qualifiers are Europe (UEFA) and Africa (CAF), both of which only offer direct World Cup places through their qualifying setups.

The clashes are redrawn each cycle with a special Intercontinental Qualifiers draw, with the four participating confederations (AFC, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC) all drawn from a pot and played against each other. The draw for this round, which took place in November 2021, pitted the South American entrant against the Asian entrant, while the North American entrant will face the Oceanian winner.

Intercontinental qualifiers for the World Cup qualifiers

The intercontinental structure of the playoffs has offered nations an additional route to the greatest competition in international football.

The majority of teams withdrew in the group stages after reaching the tournament, but a shot at the World Cup allowed fans from nations outside the established elite to take part in the biggest spectacle on Earth.

Year Qualified Nation Playoff opponent Results world Cup
stage reached
1974 Chile Soviet Union 2-0 overall. Group stage
1978 Hungary Bolivia 9-2 overall. Group stage
1986 Scotland Australia 2-0 overall. Group stage
1990 Colombia Israel 1-0 overall. Round of 16
1994 Argentina Australia 2-1 overall. Round of 16
1998 Iran Australia 3-3 in total.
(away goals)
Group stage
2002 Rep of Ireland
2-1 overall.
3-1 overall.
Round of 16
Group stage
2006 Trinidad and Tobago
2-1 overall.
1-1 overall
(4-2 CP)
Group stage
Round of 16
2010 New Zealand
Costa Rica
1-0 overall.
2-1 overall.
Group stage
Semi final
2014 Uruguay
New Zealand
5-0 overall.
9-3 overall.
Round of 16
Round of 16
2018 Australia
New Zealand
3-1 overall.
2-0 overall.
Group stage
Group stage

History of FIFA Intercontinental Qualifiers

FIFA included intercontinental qualifiers in World Cup qualification cycles prior to the 1974 tournament in West Germany.

However, the inaugural game was plagued with political controversy after the Soviet Union side refused to travel to Chile for the return leg in Santiago following a coup in the country, the Chileans having been excluded from the competition.

MORE: Top stars to miss 2022 World Cup

Since then, the intercontinental playoff structure has always been present in World Cup qualifying, with 1982 being the only exception. The confrontations changed from 1986.

UEFA v CONMEBOL was replaced by UEFA v OFC or CONMEBOL v OFC, before becoming a four-team formation before the 1994 World Cup, only for another temporary switch before France ’98.

About Matthew Berkey

Check Also

Chinese premier says economy on ‘uptrend’, pledges further support

BEIJING, Nov 13 (Reuters) – China’s economy has grown 3% over the past three quarters …